Johnston County DWI / DUI Defense Attorneys

Johnston County DWI / DUI Defense Attorneys

If you have been arrested in North Carolina for driving while impaired (DWI) – often called driving under the influence (DUI) or drunk driving – you face severe penalties that could have a long-lasting impact on your life, especially if you have any prior DWI / DUI convictions. You can go to jail, pay heavy fines, lose your license and see your insurance premiums skyrocket.

The experienced Johnston County DWI / DUI defense attorneys at Reece & Reece, Attorneys at Law, understand the serious consequences of an impaired driving charge. We can explore your legal options and work hard to find the best solution for you, such as negotiating a plea bargain or fighting your drunk driving charge in court.

Our DWI / DUI defense lawyers represent clients throughout Johnston County, including
Smithfield, Benson and Clayton. We can provide you with a free case evaluation. Call us today at (919) 300-1249 or use our convenient online form.

A North Carolina DWI / DUI Conviction Carries Severe Penalties

In North Carolina, you can be convicted of impaired driving if you drive a motor vehicle on a public road:

  • While under the influence of an impairing substance; or
  • After having consumed enough alcohol (beer, wine or liquor) that you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher (based on results from a blood, breath or alcohol test); or
  • With any amount of a controlled substance in your blood or urine, such as LSD, cocaine, marijuana or methamphetamine.

A DWI / DUI is a misdemeanor with five different levels of punishment, ranging from Level Five (60-day maximum jail sentence and $200 maximum fine) to Level One (maximum jail sentence of two years and a $4,000 maximum fine). The level depends on certain aggravating and mitigating factors, including the amount of alcohol in your system at the time of arrest, whether the impairing drug was a lawfully prescribed medication or whether you caused an accident.

There are two other alcohol or drug-related impaired driving charges:

  • Habitual impaired driving:  This offense applies if you have three or more impaired driving offenses within 10 years of your conviction and is a Class F felony charge that carries a minimum of 12 months in prison.
  • Zero Tolerance: This offense applies if you are under 21 years old and have any amount of drugs or alcohol in your system while driving. This is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

The experienced criminal defense attorneys at Reece & Reece, Attorneys at Law, can challenge the evidence in your case, including the results of a breath test (North Carolina use a breath-testing device called an Intoxilyzer 5000) or a standardized field sobriety test. We can also challenge whether the officer’s stop of your vehicle was justified.

If you are convicted, our criminal defense lawyers can seek alternatives to fines and prison time, such as probation, community service or inpatient treatment for a drug or alcohol addiction. We will work hard to protect your rights and explore all possible legal options.

License Revocation, Vehicle Forfeiture and Ignition Interlock Devices

There are a few more related legal issues you may face if stopped or charged with impaired driving:

  • License revocation: If you are convicted of DWI / DUI in North Carolina, you will have your license revoked for at least one year. If you are a first-time offender who submits to a substance abuse assessment, you may be able to obtain a limited driving privilege (LDP). Our DWI / DUI defense attorneys can assist you in obtaining an LDP and help you eventually get your driver’s license reinstated. However, if you are convicted of habitual impaired driving, your license will be permanently revoked. T  Also, if you refuse to submit to a chemical test at the time of arrest, your license can be suspended or revoked. This is known as an “implied consent” offense.
  • Vehicle forfeiture: The motor vehicle of a person convicted of DWI / DUI can be seized and sold at auction by the state. We can represent you in “hardship hearings” to challenge the forfeiture of your vehicle.
  • Ignition Interlock Device: As an alternative to losing your license, we may be able to secure restricted driving privileges for you. Under certain circumstances, you may be able to drive if an ignition interlock device is installed in your car. This device prevents your car from operating if you fail a breath test.

Contact Us Today

The hard-working, skilled and experienced Johnston County DWI / DUI defense lawyers at Reece & Reece, Attorneys at Law, are dedicated to protecting the rights and interests of drivers who have been charged with impaired driving.

We have a record of helping clients with impaired driving charges throughout Johnston County, including Smithfield, Benson and Clayton, Selma, Archer Lodge, Kenly, Four Oaks, Pine Level, Princeton, Wilson’s Mill and Micro. We also assist out-of-state drivers who have been charged with drunk driving while in Johnston County.

For a free case evaluation, call our Johnston County DWI / DUI defense attorneys today at (919) 300-1249 or use our online form.